Strength and Simplicity

October 20, 2008 at 3:34 pm (Uncategorized) (, , )

Sometimes simple things are best… like miles and miles of mindless garter stitch:

Carolyn's Shawl 3

This little shawl is for my dear friend and neighbor, who is undergoing some health problems and is going to be having major surgery soon. What can I say about this woman? She is sweet, sensitive, funny, a cancer survivor to boot, and one of the best neighbors I could have ever hoped for. I knit this for her with intent, trying to place as much positive energy and healing thoughts into every stitch of this shawl…

Carolyn's Shawl 1
As with my last project, I again used a yarn that I would usually disdain (I really am such a yarn snob). However, it is synthetic, and when one is recovering from major surgery, there are all sorts of messes that can be made. Machine-washable things are therefore the best thing. Plus, this yarn is surprisingly nice to work with, and makes for a nice, soft, cuddly, comforting fabric.

Carolyn's Shawl 2
The size of the shawl is a a bit on the small side, but I wanted to make something without too much bulk… just a little something to drape over the shoulders when sitting up in bed. I’m also hoping this will make her feel graceful and strong and comforted by the simple things in life… like a portable hug.

Specs:

Yarn: Red Heart Plush, 1 skein sage green, 0.5 tan

Needle: 5.5 mm Addi

Size: 60″ from tip to tip

Pattern: I just did a generic top-down mitered triangle, in which I cast on 5 sts, and increased two sts at each end and two in the middle every right-side row. Easy peasy!

Leave a Reply

